Elaine McArdle

Journalist & Author

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery, by Barbara Lipska with Elaine McArdle

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

A Publishers Weekly Top 10 Biography & Memoir Pick for Spring 2018
An Amazon.com "Best Books of the Month" Selection

Available April 2018

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact.

In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, Lipska—along with co-writer Elaine McArdle—recounts her ordeal and its unforgettable lessons about the brain and the mind.

About Elaine

Elaine McArdle
Elaine McArdle

Elaine McArdle is an award-winning journalist who has written for the Boston Globe and Boston Globe Magazine, Harvard Law Bulletin, Harvard Ed. Magazine, Northeastern Law Magazine, and many others. She is co-author, with Barbara K. Lipska, of The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018), and she is co-author, with Dr. Carolyn Berstein, of The Migraine Brain (Free Press, 2008). She is a senior editor at UU World magazine.

Read more about Elaine

Featured stories

  • Resurrection
    Photo credit: Webb Chappell
    "Resurrection"
    Northeastern Law Magazine

    Charles Moore and Henry Dee were brutally executed by Mississippi Klansmen almost five decades ago. A law professor and a small cadre of students delivered justice to their families in a landmark case.

    Read the full story
  • Bowie, Prince, and Cohen: Saints of Freedom
    Illustration: Robert Neubecker, 2016
    "Bowie, Prince, and Cohen: Saints of Freedom"
    UU World

    "Are you into Bowie?" was a password that led me to many of my closest friends, shorthand for a certain kind of innocent—however decadent or odd in appearance—who believes in love.

    Read the full story
  • The Past is Alive at Whitney Plantation
    Photo: "The Children of Whitney" courtesy of Whitney Plantation
    "The past is alive at Whitney Plantation"
    UU World

    Whitney Plantation, outside New Orleans, is one of the first plantation museums in the country to focus exclusively on the stories and lives of enslaved people.

    Read the full story